Some organizations have a semi-centralized purchasing model, whereby a select few users raise the purchase orders on behalf of others. The majority of users will be assigned the role of Buyer or Browser in Unimarket by a Community Administrator or users with the User Administrator role.
- Browser: This role allows users to search for items, add them to cart and then reassign requisitions to a Buyer as an Incomplete Requisition for final checkout, which will then route for approval. A Browser has the ability to specify what items they want to purchase but they cannot complete the purchase themselves
- Buyer: This role gives users all the abilities of the Browser, but also the power to complete a requisition to begin the approval process. A Buyer should be a user with knowledge of account information.
Raising an Incomplete Requisition (Browsers)
Browsers can find products and services in catalogs and create non-catalog order items in the same way as buyers. Once the shopping cart is full of the required items, browsers reassign the incomplete requisition from inside the checkout page. The checkout page allows the browser to specify details about the order (as much as they know) and provide instructions to the buyer. They select a community buyer from the list and click Reassign. The incomplete requisition is routed to the buyer for action and they will be notified by email and in their Tasks menu.
Creating an Order from an Incomplete Requisition (Buyers)
Buyers will be notified of new incomplete requisitions via email. These can be viewed from the menu Tasks > Incomplete Requisitions.
A list of pending incomplete requisitions are displayed and the detail can be viewed by clicking on the requisition number. From within the incomplete requisition the buyer can Checkout and complete the requisition using the standard purchasing process. Once the requisition is approved and an order is created the browser will be notified. If the buyer is not happy with the incomplete requisition, they can also choose to delete the request by selecting Cancel from the Actions menu in the top right.